I think you are misinterpreting the rule Holden. That rule doesn't mean a ref can't rule 'held up in goal' if that's what they thought it was.
But the rule does not say he has to award it!HoldenV8 said:http://www.playrugbyleague.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/International-Laws-of-the-Game.pdf
Scoring - Section 6, page 12. Its there in black and white.
Referee unsighted - The referee should not disallow a try because he was not in a position to see the grounding of the ball
Actually...SeaEagleRock8 said:But the rule does not say he has to award it!HoldenV8 said:http://www.playrugbyleague.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/International-Laws-of-the-Game.pdf
Scoring - Section 6, page 12. Its there in black and white.
Referee unsighted - The referee should not disallow a try because he was not in a position to see the grounding of the ball
The double negative is very clumsy drafting, and makes the rule harder to understand. But clearly a ref can say held up if that's what he thought.
(However I agree this decision was a total dud.)
globaleagle said:Anderson said he was comfortable with the decision by the officials on the night.
Team | P | W | D | L | PD | Pts | |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 | Raiders | 23 | 19 | 0 | 4 | 186 | 44 |
2 | Storm | 23 | 17 | 0 | 6 | 228 | 40 |
3 | Bulldogs | 23 | 16 | 0 | 7 | 138 | 38 |
4 | Broncos | 23 | 14 | 0 | 9 | 156 | 34 |
5 | Warriors | 23 | 14 | 0 | 9 | 22 | 34 |
6 | Sharks | 22 | 13 | 0 | 9 | 67 | 32 |
7 | Panthers | 23 | 12 | 1 | 10 | 87 | 31 |
8 | Roosters | 23 | 12 | 0 | 11 | 102 | 30 |
9 | Sea Eagles | 23 | 11 | 0 | 12 | 20 | 28 |
10 | Dolphins | 22 | 10 | 0 | 12 | 81 | 26 |
11 | Tigers | 23 | 9 | 0 | 14 | -127 | 24 |
12 | Eels | 23 | 9 | 0 | 14 | -132 | 24 |
13 | Rabbitohs | 23 | 9 | 0 | 14 | -151 | 24 |
14 | Cowboys | 24 | 9 | 1 | 14 | -146 | 23 |
15 | Dragons | 23 | 8 | 0 | 15 | -110 | 22 |
16 | Knights | 22 | 6 | 0 | 16 | -220 | 18 |
17 | Titans | 22 | 5 | 0 | 17 | -201 | 16 |