I think you are misinterpreting the rule Holden. That rule doesn't mean a ref can't rule 'held up in goal' if that's what they thought it was.
But the rule does not say he has to award it!HoldenV8 said:http://www.playrugbyleague.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/International-Laws-of-the-Game.pdf
Scoring - Section 6, page 12. Its there in black and white.
Referee unsighted - The referee should not disallow a try because he was not in a position to see the grounding of the ball
Actually...SeaEagleRock8 said:But the rule does not say he has to award it!HoldenV8 said:http://www.playrugbyleague.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/International-Laws-of-the-Game.pdf
Scoring - Section 6, page 12. Its there in black and white.
Referee unsighted - The referee should not disallow a try because he was not in a position to see the grounding of the ball
The double negative is very clumsy drafting, and makes the rule harder to understand. But clearly a ref can say held up if that's what he thought.
(However I agree this decision was a total dud.)
globaleagle said:Anderson said he was comfortable with the decision by the officials on the night.
Team | P | W | D | L | PD | Pts | |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 | Bulldogs | 13 | 11 | 0 | 2 | 98 | 26 |
2 | Raiders | 14 | 11 | 0 | 3 | 96 | 24 |
3 | Warriors | 13 | 10 | 0 | 3 | 35 | 24 |
4 | Storm | 12 | 8 | 0 | 4 | 171 | 22 |
5 | Sharks | 14 | 8 | 0 | 6 | 26 | 18 |
6 | Dolphins | 14 | 7 | 0 | 7 | 146 | 16 |
7 | Broncos | 13 | 6 | 0 | 7 | 44 | 16 |
8 | Roosters | 13 | 6 | 0 | 7 | -18 | 16 |
9 | Panthers | 13 | 5 | 1 | 7 | -9 | 15 |
10 | Cowboys | 13 | 5 | 1 | 7 | -106 | 15 |
11 | Sea Eagles | 14 | 6 | 0 | 8 | 22 | 14 |
12 | Dragons | 13 | 5 | 0 | 8 | -59 | 14 |
13 | Tigers | 13 | 5 | 0 | 8 | -62 | 14 |
14 | Rabbitohs | 14 | 6 | 0 | 8 | -88 | 14 |
15 | Knights | 14 | 5 | 0 | 9 | -69 | 12 |
16 | Eels | 13 | 4 | 0 | 9 | -105 | 12 |
17 | Titans | 13 | 4 | 0 | 9 | -122 | 12 |