1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Manly Go Down In Holden Cup

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by lsz, Mar 15, 2016.

By lsz on Mar 15, 2016 at 1:49 PM
  1. lsz

    lsz Well-Known Member Staff Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    +4,845 /102
    Manly Warringah Sea Eagles suffered a 34-30 loss to Wests Tigers at Leichhardt Oval tonight in round two of the Holden Cup competition.

    In a match that saw the scoreboard constantly changing, the Sea Eagles turned in a much improved performance following the heavy loss to the Bulldogs in the opening round at Brookvale Oval.

    The Sea Eagles came close to scoring in the ninth minute when five-eighth Nicholas Hynes took the line on from 10 metres out only to be held up over the line.

    Wests Tigers opened the scoring through full-back Luke Sharpe. The try was converted by five-eighth Veiru Mapesone for a 6-0 lead.

    The home then went to a 10-0 lead when prop and co-captain Junior Tatola scored under the posts. Mapesone converted for a 12-0 lead after 21 minutes.

    The Sea Eagles hit back in the 29th minute when Hynes delivered a perfect pass to put second-rower Billy Bainbridge into a gap to score untouched. Half-back Hutana Coffin nailed the conversion to trail 12-6.

    Two minutes later, the Sea Eagles crossed again through centre Brad Parker in the left corner. Coffin converted for a 12-all scoreline after 33 minutes.

    Hynes then gave the Sea Eagles a 16-12 lead before Coffin converted for an 18-12 lead at half-time.

    2nd Half

    Wests Tigers hit back quickly through a try to winger Obed Karwhin. Mapesone converted for an 18-all scoreline.

    Karwhin grabbed his second try when he found some open space on the left flank to score for a 22-18 lead. Mapesone converted for a 24-18 lead after 57 minutes.

    The Sea Eagles got back to 24-22 through a try to Lucas Price. Coffin converted for a 24-all scoreline after 62 minutes.

    Wests Tigers regained the lead through a try to winger Toa Mata’afa for a 28-24 lead after 67 minutes. Three minutes later, Bayley Sironen crashed through two defenders to score next to the posts. Mapesone converted for a 34-24 lead after 71 minutes.

    The Sea Eagles scored a try inside the final minute when Price scooped on a loose ball to cross. Coffin converted for the 34-30 scoreline.

    Manly Sea Eagles team

    1 Jayden El-Jalkh 2 Mitch Thomas 3 Brad Parker 5 Harry O’Toole 6 Nicholas Hynes 7 Hutana Coffin 9 Heath Garay 10 Darcy Cox (C) 11 Billy Bainbridge 12 Jordan Sims 13 Moses Noovao-McGreal; Interchange 14 Jon Bernard Kairouz 15 Joshua Martin 16 Lucas Price 17 Elia Faatui 21 Harlan Collins



Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by lsz, Mar 15, 2016.

    1. BOZO

      BOZO Well-Known Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

      +7,356 /384
      What comes down must go up
      Go the mighty Sea eagles !!!

Share This Page