1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8 point try

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by silvertail, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. silvertail

    silvertail Well-Known Member Premium Member

    +443 /9
    More so called bad luck upon reflecting on the Blair try.

    In both rugby league and in rugby union, if the referee believes that a try has been prevented by the defending team's misconduct, he may award the attacking team a penalty try. Penalty tries are always awarded under the posts regardless of where the offence took place.

    In rugby league, an 8-point try is awarded if the defending team commits an act of foul play as the ball is being grounded. The try is awarded, and is followed by a conversion attempt, in-line from where the try was scored, and then a penalty kick from in front of the posts. In rugby union, foul play after a try being scored results in a penalty being awarded on the half way mark, in lieu of a kick off.

    By that definition, the right decision was made. But a pretty dumb rule when you think about it. You can knock someone's head off after a try, get sin binned but have no fear, no additional penalty shot will be awarded because the infringement occurred AFTER the ball was grounded.

    It's the only time in a game when a penalty is not a penalty (other than off-side in extra time).

    You would think that the NRL would have had plenty of time to have reconsidered this rule. Right now it's an 8 point try if Billy Slater's stud fly into your face as you are putting the ball down. No 8 point try if Billy arrives a fraction late, AFTER the ball is grounded and rips your face off with his studs leading in some sort of karate slide tackle.
  2. Stevo

    Stevo Well-Known Member

    +1,401 /56
    Neither should have been sin binned.

    I have never seen such poor punches thrown by anyone.

    Starlings was more like a shove with a closed fist and Reni's was the same and it missed.

  3. fLIP

    fLIP UFO Hunter

    +1,324 /37
    The rule of thumb is it doesn't matter how hard you hit the bloke (you could kill him for all the NRL cares), as long as you have a piece of his collar in your clenched first there's nothing wrong.
  4. Peter C

    Peter C Well-Known Member Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    +1,207 /26
    If it was an attacking player that instigated the punch up after a try was scored, then the referee has the option of NOT awarding the try.
    I remember a game back in the late eighties or early nineties when Balmain scored against us and Steve Roach punched a Manly player just after the ball was put down, the referee then took the try off Balmain and awarded a penalty to Manly.
    So by all rights there should have been a penalty awarded where the fight started.

Share This Page