1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The rule that cruelled us.

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by fLIP, Sep 20, 2014.

  1. fLIP

    fLIP UFO Hunter

    Ratings:
    +901 /26
    If that kick doesn't hit the ref we win. I'm 99% sure of that. There's 365 degrees you can kick the ball in but you hit the .5 of a degree that's straight at the ref. Imo if you can't aim away from the only ref in front of you you lose the ball. Not get a set of 12 for compensation.

    That said i know it's the rule that's the game, but with 2 refs now surely they have looked at this? Last tackle ref marks ten then gets the fuk out of the way.

    What a momentum killer. I might be bias but he didn't even try get out of the way. So disappointing. The boys deserved more tonight than to busy there arse only to be cruelled like that.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Mal Cochrane

      Mal Cochrane I'm not really Mal Cochrane...

      762
      224
      Ratings:
      +545 /4
      yeah, it's strange rule, but i am not sure I have the better answer.
       
    • Cliffymagic

      Cliffymagic Active Member

      251
      35
      Ratings:
      +201 /2
      Was ridiculous. Was last tackle nothin kick. Was no effect on thier attack.
       
    • Mal Cochrane

      Mal Cochrane I'm not really Mal Cochrane...

      762
      224
      Ratings:
      +545 /4
      agree, but imagine the grey area of refs deciding that.
       
    • Masked Eagle

      Masked Eagle Well-Known Member

      Ratings:
      +976 /0
      Strange rule, but not really sure what the alternative is. The problem is coming up with something black and white because the circumstances will change with one team getting a benefit when the play probably didn't deserve it. I'd say should be left up to the refs discretion but we know that would lead to even more controversy.
       
    • Dan

      Dan Kim Jong Dan Staff Member Administrator 2017 Tipping Competitor 2016 Tipping Competitor

      33,380
      3,989
      Ratings:
      +7,047 /106
      You hit the ref then the defensive team should get the ball that makes infinitely more sense
       
      • Like Like x 8
      • Clint

        Clint . Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

        3,922
        1,307
        Ratings:
        +1,901 /20
        My missus said they should just bring the ball back and play it again. I think she is right.
         
        • Like Like x 4
        • panash

          panash Well-Known Member

          870
          288
          Ratings:
          +296 /0
          Correct if I'm wrong.

          It's the refs discretion regarding if the attacking team is interfered.

          They were not !!!

          Funny how the scumdog players changed the refs decision.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • fLIP

            fLIP UFO Hunter

            Ratings:
            +901 /26
            I do. The rule currently is if you kick it into the ref it goes to the team in the attacking half. Its counter intuitive. If you are in the attacking half you have the advantage, you don't deserve the ball back back imo. You shouldn't be kicking it into him to begin with.

            If it were the other way around it would be easier to swallow. Defensive side gets the ball because 9 times out if ten the set had been completed when a kick is taken. Kicking from your own half is rarely low enough to hit the refv given you are struggling for field positing and if you get it back through some freak of nature luck it's not as bad as a gruber knicking a refs leg 10 out after charging 90 mtrs down feild in a set doubling your tackle account and totally flipping game momentum.
             
          • joeboy

            joeboy Well-Known Member

            741
            290
            Ratings:
            +506 /17
            Bad luck, handover should be the rule.
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • HoldenV8

              HoldenV8 Well-Known Member

              7,885
              2,223
              Ratings:
              +9,063 /153
              If the kick is on the last tackle it should go to the defending team, not gift the attacking team an extra set of 6.

              All teams really need to do is kick it towards the ref and if he can't get out of its path they will get the ball back for an extra set.

              As it stands, its a BS rule but its been around since Moses was in nappies.
               
            • From the F6

              From the F6 Member

              Ratings:
              +7 /0
              Thats what cost us that rule, it had no way any chance of the Dogs getting the ball back it really go's to show how much of a overhaul this comp need needs to go through ,Every team puts in week after week but some rule's and they way the game is administered clearly needs work
               
            • Ian Martin tragic

              Ian Martin tragic Well-Known Member

              Ratings:
              +169 /0
              You should get a bonus set for tagging one of the little blighters...
               
            • weev

              weev Well-Known Member

              Ratings:
              +764 /19
              If you don't know what to do on the last play and the ref is standing in front of you.... You get the ball back 10 out.

              Better result than a goal-line drop out.

              Hey, just kick it towards the ref anyways, use the ref as a shepherd. Chases running through.

              What a dumb rule.
               
            • fLIP

              fLIP UFO Hunter

              Ratings:
              +901 /26
              Exactly. How can you leave the possession of ball in the hand of the only team who have a say in wether. a kick hits the ref. Just so dodgy. However, dint b expect any meaningful review and rule change. They'll change something stupid in the off season like if your last name is Burgess or Bill-Williams you can't be suspended for shoulder charges.
               
            • Killer03

              Killer03 Well-Known Member

              2,690
              1,551
              Ratings:
              +3,293 /31
              Ridiculous rule and Clint's missus has nailed.

              Go back and take it again. How they are gifted an extra set of 6 for that is beyond ridiculous. I know it's the rule....but it's a joke.
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • Masked Eagle

                Masked Eagle Well-Known Member

                Ratings:
                +976 /0
                What happens if its a kick in goal and it hits the ref and the attacking team were going to score a try if it didn't hit him? Is that fair?
                 
              • Mal Cochrane

                Mal Cochrane I'm not really Mal Cochrane...

                762
                224
                Ratings:
                +545 /4
                that's why it is grey...
                 
              • Dan

                Dan Kim Jong Dan Staff Member Administrator 2017 Tipping Competitor 2016 Tipping Competitor

                33,380
                3,989
                Ratings:
                +7,047 /106
                Yes it's fair you have the whole field to kick at.

                Do you think what happened today was fair? You tackle them out of a chance at a shot they do a lazy kick and you get penalized for good defense and their dodgy attack
                 
              • EaglesDontTweet

                EaglesDontTweet Well-Known Member Premium Member

                Ratings:
                +1,674 /22
                With this rule, why not have the refs sponsored by Target. Give something for the attacking player to aim at.:idea:
                 

              Share This Page