Perhaps I'm wrong

Peter C

Bencher
I was under the impression that a player tackled close to the sideline can put his foot one the sideline in the process of getting up to play the ball once the tackle is completed.
Towards the end of the game, Dylan Walker was tackled close to the sideline and within their twenty metre zone, the tackle was completed as the Roosters player had a hand on him, getting up to play the ball he put his foot into touch and the referee ruled a scrum in favour of the Roosters.
Has the rule been changed, or is it because we played the Roosters??.
 
I was under the impression that a player tackled close to the sideline can put his foot one the sideline in the process of getting up to play the ball once the tackle is completed.
Towards the end of the game, Dylan Walker was tackled close to the sideline and within their twenty metre zone, the tackle was completed as the Roosters player had a hand on him, getting up to play the ball he put his foot into touch and the referee ruled a scrum in favour of the Roosters.
Has the rule been changed, or is it because we played the Roosters??.
Your not wrong. That is the rule. The touchie has one job, you'd think he'd be able to get it right
 
That is the rule, you aren't wrong. I disagree with that rule aswell, you should always stay in the field, however, its the NRL's job to over complicate things.

In my opinion his foot went in to touch in the process of the tackle, not in the process of getting up to play the ball. So correct call for mine.

He also knocked on i believe.
 
The touch judge was signalling a knock-on not foot in touch; the commentators got it wrong I think.

I might need to check the replay.
 
The referee called that he was in touch BEFORE his foot even touched the line. The touchies flag stayed down the entire time whilst he was standing right on top of it.

There was zero reason for him to call that out, Walker only put his foot on the line because the whistle had been blown. I thought that in real time and the replay confirmed it.

To me it was a square up for the Myles strip at the other end
 
A
That is the rule, you aren't wrong. I disagree with that rule aswell, you should always stay in the field, however, its the NRL's job to over complicate things.

In my opinion his foot went in to touch in the process of the tackle, not in the process of getting up to play the ball. So correct call for mine.

He also knocked on i believe.

You should always stay in field. Id say while attempting a conversion from the side linetoo.
 
The referee called that he was in touch BEFORE his foot even touched the line. The touchies flag stayed down the entire time whilst he was standing right on top of it.

There was zero reason for him to call that out, Walker only put his foot on the line because the whistle had been blown. I thought that in real time and the replay confirmed it.

To me it was a square up for the Myles strip at the other end
I didn't even thnk the Myles strip was a thing. Anasta jumped on it on the fox coverage but he's a rooster. Voss as any good play by play commentator would jumped on what his colour commentator did. Just looked like a locked up ball and a player hitting the ground hard. No intentional reefing of the ball away from the player.

Plus rooters touched DCE's field goal attempt and still got the 22 tap with horse head hearing nothing of it.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Latest posts

2025 Ladder

Team P W D L PD Pts
1 Raiders 21 17 0 4 168 40
2 Storm 21 16 0 5 252 38
3 Bulldogs 21 15 0 6 120 36
4 Warriors 21 13 0 8 12 32
5 Panthers 21 12 1 8 115 31
6 Broncos 21 12 0 9 114 30
7 Sharks 22 13 0 9 67 30
8 Roosters 21 11 0 10 92 28
9 Dolphins 21 10 0 11 109 26
10 Sea Eagles 21 9 0 12 -24 24
11 Tigers 21 9 0 12 -107 24
12 Dragons 21 8 0 13 -54 22
13 Cowboys 22 8 1 13 -144 21
14 Eels 21 7 0 14 -156 20
15 Rabbitohs 22 8 0 14 -191 20
16 Knights 21 6 0 15 -186 18
17 Titans 21 5 0 16 -187 16
Back
Top Bottom