1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News: Sea Eagles trio finalists in top player awards

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by ManlyBacker, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. ManlyBacker

    ManlyBacker Winging it Staff Member

    +972 /7
    <div class="content-item" />
    <p>SEA Eagles trio Jamie Lyon, Glenn Stewart and Kieran Foran are among the finalists for the Rugby League International Federation’s Player of the Year Awards to be announced in Auckland on Wednesday night.</p>

    <a href="http://www.silvertails.net/news/5234-sea-eagles-trio-finalists-in-top-player-awards.html">Read the full article</a>
    [hr]Post  automatically merged: [time]1288817250[/time][hr]
    FOUR players not deemed good enough to be part of coach Tim Sheens' Test side were tonight named as the world's best in their individual positions.
    At the Rugby League International Federation's player of the year awards in Auckland, Todd Carney, Robbie Farah, Darius Boyd and Scott Prince were all named in the world team of the year.

    Carney was named player of the year and best five-eighth, despite not being chosen yet in a Four Nations match. Boyd was fullback of the year, Prince the premier halfback and Farah hooker of the year.

    Dean Ritchie says Todd Carney should be named for Australia in the Four Nations final. Join Bulldog's blog

    Farah and Boyd are yet to play in the Four Nations while Prince was overlooked for the Australian squad behind Melbourne's Cooper Cronk.

    The award continues an amazing season for Carney, who won the Dally M Medal and helped guide the Sydney Roosters into this year's NRL grand final.

    Carney joined Billy Slater and Jarryd Hayne as winners of the three-year-old award.

    Other player-of-the-year candidates were Boyd, James Graham (St Helens), Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers), Adrian Morley (Warrington), Pat Richards (Wigan), Billy Slater (Melbourne) and Sam Tomkins (Wigan).

    "It's a great honour," Carney said.

    Wayne Bennett was named international coach of the year after steering St George Illawarra to the club's first premiership in 31 years.

    Bennett beat Richard Agar (Hull FC), Michael Maguire (Wigan), Mal Meninga (Queensland), Brian Noble (Crusaders), Tim Sheens (Wests Tigers and Australia), Brian Smith (Roosters) and Tony Smith (Warrington).

    Tomkins was named international rookie of the year ahead of rising NRL stars Kieran Foran, Ben Matulino, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Gareth Widdop. The international team of the year was Boyd, Richards, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Carney, Prince, Luke Lewis, Gareth Ellis, Farah and Morley.

    Australia's Tony Archer and England's Phil Silverwood were named joint referees of the year.

    Boyd's gong for fullback of the year was a big victory given he was up against Hayne, Slater, Josh Dugan and Super League players Shaun Briscoe (Hull Kingston Rovers), Brent Webb (Leeds) and Paul Wellens (St Helens).

    Israel Folau was nominated for centre of the year despite quitting rugby league for AFL.

    List of winners from the RLIF Awards announced in Auckland:

    Player of the Year: Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters)

    Coach of the Year: Wayne Bennett (St George Illawarra)

    Rookie of the Year: Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors)

    Team of the year

    Fullback: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra)

    Winger: Pat Richards (Wigan)

    Centre: Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Sydney Roosters)

    Five-eighth: Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters)

    Halfback: Scott Prince (Gold Coast Titans)

    Prop: Adrian Morley (Warrington)

    Hooker: Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)

    Second-row: Gareth Ellis (Wests Tigers)

    Lock: Luke Lewis (Penrith)

    Referees of the Year: Tony Archer (Australia) and Richard Silverwood (England).

    Spirit of Rugby League Award: Ron McGregor (New Zealand).

  2. Berkeley_Eagle

    Berkeley_Eagle Current Status: 24/7 Manly Fan

    +2,125 /14
    Pat Richards  LOL
  3. eagles2win

    eagles2win Well-Known Member

    +494 /0
    Coach of the year should have went to Noble - Crusaders RL technically didn't have a team until two weeks until the start of the English Season.

    Referee : Should have just been Silverwood

    Centre : (This must have been the Jarryd Hayne Honour award - where you play good for 8 weeks and that's all that matter's) Jamie Lyon
  4. Guest

    Guest Guest

    +0 /0
    What was glenn stewart nominated for...cant be his form
  5. MissKate

    MissKate Well-Known Member Premium Member

    +1,621 /7
    Who actually puts the nominations etc together, some of these are well suspect, Tim Sheens, Pat Richards - why?
  6. eagles2win

    eagles2win Well-Known Member

    +494 /0
    David Middleton, and a few other's. I've seen the full list
    Pat Richards killed it this year for Wigan
  7. Kiwi Eagle

    Kiwi Eagle Moderator Staff Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    +3,866 /65
    Pat Richards has a massive year in the Super League

Share This Page