• We had an issue with background services between march 10th and 15th or there about. This meant the payment services were not linking to automatic upgrades. If you paid for premium membership and are still seeing ads please let me know and the email you used against PayPal and I cam manually verify and upgrade your account.

Chip and Chase

True Supporter
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Tipping Member
13 straight now. What I don't understand is what are the handicappers doing ? Isn't the idea of racing to handicap horses to even up the field ? Surely they should be throwing 80kg or something on it's back to bring it back to the pack. Genuine question, as I'm no racing expert.

Not every race is a handicap. Some are weight for age so that means that it is a set amount to carry depending on age and sex. I won't go into detail of most lower level races but it is possible under the rules to have an advantage as a horse works up through the grades.

All really big handicaps (usually called Group 1s) have their weights set months in advance - based on the form at the time and also considering whether they want to attract the horse's connections to compete. It is a delicate balancing act. Once those weights are set then there are preliminary races where a horse can earn a penalty, which is then added on, but the owners can always attempt to bypass some or all of these. The big handicaps also have weights assessed based on how previous horses of that age and sex have performed in it. The idea is that it is reasonably fair to all without killing the chance of getting a crowd drawcard horse to nominate. Hope that helps.

Clear as mud. I understand set weight at WFA, and you would expect that a class horse would always win under that regime.

So basically at some point they will handicap Black Caviar to a loss I assume, but it may take a while.