1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another big rule the refs got wrong that cost us

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by Stevo11, Sep 22, 2014.

  1. Stevo11

    Stevo11 Guest

    +0 /0
    For all the talk of rule stuff ups on Saturday night, here's one that seems incontrovertible to me. We should have received the scrum feed after the ball hit the ref.

    Why is that?

    Well, rightly or wrongly he initially awarded the scrum to Manly.

    He can't then change that to a scrum to the Bulldogs - even if he is wrong, with all the convincing in the world - because the rules clearly say:
    "The Referee judges on matters of fact AND SHALL NOT SUBSEQUENTLY ALTER THOSE JUDGMENTS. He may cancel any decision made if prior foul play of which he had know knowledge is reported to him by a Touch Judge."

    The NRL interpretations at the back of the document allow for the video referee to assist, but make no other qualifications to this rule.

    Hence it seems pretty clear to me that he had no right to change who he awarded the scrum to. Once he awarded it to Manly, it should have remained a Manly scrum feed, and not been changed.
  2. mickqld

    mickqld Sack Greenslime 2017 Tipping Competitor

    +5,249 /109
    The club needs to make some massive noise over all this. Bring in lawyers and demand a replay. If not then take it to court
    • Like Like x 1
    • Lord Eagleton

      Lord Eagleton Well-Known Member

      +1,482 /36
      Mick, Todd Greenberg runs the NRL
    • Chip and Chase

      Chip and Chase True Supporter Staff Member Administrator Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

      +8,578 /80
      I think the precedence for this was set in an Origin game many moons ago when King Golly Lewis badgered a ref into changing his decision on a scrum feed, something to do with whether there was an advantage gained after a knock on or something to that effect. I think Golly went on to get another MOM award for that performance alone.

      The actual rule for the ball contacting the ref is

      (e) when play is irregularly affected by the ball or the
      player carrying the ball coming into contact with
      the Referee, a Touch Judge, or with any person
      not taking part in the match or with any object
      which should not normally be on the playing field

      It is open to interpretation. Irregularly affected in my book doesn't include crap kicks by the attacking side that are regathered by the defending side after contacting the ref. He could have ruled play on, had he had testicles that is.
      • Like Like x 2
      • MadMarcus

        MadMarcus Local Lunatic 2017 Tipping Competitor

        +8,375 /74
        Here's another little-known rule they forgot about:

        Section 14 - Offside
        An offside player shall not take any part in the game or attempt in any way to influence the course of the game. He shall not encroach within ten metres of an
        opponent who is waiting for the ball and shall immediately retire ten metres from any opponent who first secures possession of the ball.
      • EaglesDontTweet

        EaglesDontTweet Well-Known Member Premium Member

        +2,035 /27
        Webster has covered enough in this one story to save about 200 posts across all the league forums.:)
        • Like Like x 2

        Share This Page