1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

50 days till the 2013 Harvey Norman All Stars

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by mozgrame, Dec 21, 2012.

  1. mozgrame

    mozgrame Well-Known Member

    +5,118 /51
    NRL.com Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - 11:42 AM

    With just 50 days until kick-off in the 2013 Harvey Norman Rugby League All Stars in Brisbane, fans face the tough task of deciding between Storm team-mates Billy Slater and Cooper Cronk for NRL All Stars honours, while Greg Inglis holds a narrow lead in the Indigenous All Stars voting.

    Already in 10 days a combined total of more 12,000 fans have registered their selections at www.nrl.com/allstars ahead of voting closing on January 14 for the 16 prized public-chosen spots in the 20-man squads for both teams for the fourth annual All Stars match to be played at Suncorp Stadium on February 9.

    With only one player from each club eligible for Wayne Bennett’s NRL All Stars, Slater’s All Stars debut hopes rest heavily with his Storm, Queensland and Australian team-mate Cronk, who is locked in a tight battle with the Rabbitohs’ Adam Reynolds for halfback. Because Slater has more votes overall than Cronk, he currently has the edge for the one Storm spot chosen by the public.

    While Slater leads the voting for fullback, Eels star fullback Jarryd Hayne is the most popular NRL All Stars player overall (his votes are spread across the fullback, wing, centre and bench positions). Less than 200 votes separates Hayne from James Tamou (Cowboys), Brett Morris (Dragons) and Paul Gallen (Sharks).

    Likewise, voting for the Indigenous All Stars is also very tight, with just 40 votes separating Greg Inglis (Rabbitohs), Greg Bird (Titans) and Ben Barba (Bulldogs).
    Fans can choose from all of Rugby League’s best Indigenous talent for Laurie Daley’s Indigenous All Stars.

    Following the closing of the public online voting on January 14, the final squads will be announced in Brisbane on January 16.

    Both coaches will be able to select additional bench players to complement the 16-man teams chosen by the public to make up a 20-man squad, with Bennett able to select two extras alongside automatic selections Benji Marshall (New Zealand captain) and Cameron Smith (Australian captain).

    Daley will pick three extra players in addition to automatic selection and Indigenous All Stars captain Johnathan Thurston and the 16 public selections.

  2. manlyfan76

    manlyfan76 Parra Trolls are the best. Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    +8,029 /174
  3. Moondog

    Moondog What's up Darth? Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    +5,245 /51
    ^ What he said
  4. Frogz

    Frogz Well-Known Member Premium Member

    +1,931 /43
    Ditto me in on that also Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  5. mozgrame

    mozgrame Well-Known Member

    +5,118 /51
    Not me. I'm excited! Any footy is good footy and the sooner the better. Go George!!
  6. Jethro

    Jethro This space is for rent Staff Member Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    +2,307 /13

Share This Page