1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

the no try-why not?

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by castle eagle, May 13, 2013.

  1. castle eagle

    castle eagle Well-Known Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    1,280
    367
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +650 / 6
    i was at the game (sitting in front of the family hill so no decent view of the big screen)& couldn't figure out why the manly try in the second half was dis-allowed. also what was the ensuing penalty for?
     
  2. SeaEagleRock8

    SeaEagleRock8 Sea Eagle Lach Staff Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    12,593
    3,522
    Ratings:
    +6,793 / 122
    They said Wolf was in front of Lyon when the ball came free so he was offside. Bit unlucky. Both Roosters scores had an element of luck, it was one of those games that could have gone either way.
     
  3. castle eagle

    castle eagle Well-Known Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    1,280
    367
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +650 / 6
    well that clears it up,thanks
     
  4. globaleagle

    globaleagle Où est mon chapeau Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    11,779
    4,705
    Ratings:
    +7,785 / 58
  5. Crusher_Cleal

    Crusher_Cleal Well-Known Member

    974
    205
    Ratings:
    +555 / 17
    It unfortunately touched Lyon's leg just before Wolf grounded it. A bit unlucky in the end.
     
  6. Mals

    Mals Well-Known Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    3,142
    812
    Pennant Hills
    Ratings:
    +1,480 / 35
    I was standing under the Fulton-Menzies stand so couldn't get a clear view either but didn't this happen in-goal? Since when can you be offside in-goal?!?
     
  7. Chip and Chase

    Chip and Chase True Supporter Staff Member Administrator Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    12,810
    3,170
    Ratings:
    +6,282 / 44
    You can't be offside in your OWN in goal, I don't think that applies to the opposition's.

    Just an unlucky fact that the ball hit Killers leg and Wolfie was in front of him.
     
  8. mmmdl

    mmmdl Active Member

    305
    91
    Ratings:
    +105 / 2
    What I don't understand about that particular play was that the refs had called 6 again, and to check the try. If it's no try, and the Roosters knocked the ball on, why doesn't it come back to the first infringement?
     
  9. Shoe1

    Shoe1 Well-Known Member

    6,217
    1,987
    Ratings:
    +4,632 / 74
    True why not?
     
  10. MissKate

    MissKate Well-Known Member Premium Member

    1,397
    360
    Ratings:
    +1,021 / 7
    Because klein was video ref and he made it his mission to find some reason to disallow what the on-field refs had called a try.
     
  11. mozgrame

    mozgrame Well-Known Member

    7,007
    3,013
    Ratings:
    +4,565 / 45
    Poor Wolfie was laughing so hard too at the thought he had just scored the simplest of tries. I guess he should have let Glenn or Jamie have another go at it. lol
     
  12. Stevo

    Stevo Well-Known Member

    4,566
    995
    NSW
    Ratings:
    +1,319 / 47
    Because a penalty over rules an error. :rules:
     
  13. mozgrame

    mozgrame Well-Known Member

    7,007
    3,013
    Ratings:
    +4,565 / 45
    Haha. Excellent! Short and sweet. Just the way Mrs K likes it.
     
  14. StuBoot

    StuBoot Well-Known Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    1,347
    440
    Ratings:
    +795 / 7
    Just because it was 6 again doesn't mean the Chooks knocked it on, it may have gone backwards.

    We were deadset unlucky on that, an accidental offside that wasn't even played at, the ball hit him.

    We score that we win I reckon, we're 2nd and the Chooks "fail" their first big test, instead they're the real deal and we're on our knees.

    It just goes to show that there is no deadset cert to win the comp.

    If a bounce of the ball or a couple of 50/50's go against you it can be anybody's.
     

Share This Page