1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

That Matai kickoff

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by Kiwi Eagle, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. Kiwi Eagle

    Kiwi Eagle Moderator Staff Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    14,488
    1,734
    Ratings:
    +2,425 / 31
    Never seen that happen in all my years of footy.

    Did they get the ruling right ? On the radio they were suggesting that they thought the crossbar should have been counted as part of the field so line dropout, but TV thought the right call was made

    Can anyone confirm either way ?
     
  2. Matabele

    Matabele Well-Known Member

    23,047
    447
    Ratings:
    +466 / 6
    They need to get it right for when it next happens in 26 years time.
     
  3. Downie

    Downie Active Member

    732
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I never thought Matai was a decent kicker, either.
     
  4. Bob Wiley

    Bob Wiley New Member

    15
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    They got it right.

    http://www.nswrl.com.au/files/rules/international_rules.pdf

    Page 20
    Section 8 - Kick Off and Drop-Out

    Rule 6(b) says a player is penalised if he kicks the ball on the full over the touch line, touch in goal, or over the dead ball line.

    The explanatory note to Rule 6(b) says "Hitting the post or cross bar in flight does not negate the breach"
     
  5. Canteen Worker

    Canteen Worker Well-Known Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    13,234
    186
    Ratings:
    +212 / 5
    I remember it happening when I was playing - against us. I was packing death not wanting to take the ball and was relieved it hit the bar.
     
  6. Dan

    Dan Administrator Staff Member Administrator 2016 Tipping Competitor

    32,370
    3,610
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +5,463 / 74
    can someone please explain to me what happened?
    There is no coverage here in the US
     
  7. Mike

    Mike Member

    61
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sea Eagles kick off. The ball would have landed in the Sharks in goal except it hit the horizontal part of the cross bar and got an extra bounce up past the dead ball line.
     
  8. ants

    ants Active Member

    382
    4
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    LOL are some parts of the cross bar vertical :lol:

    sorry couldn't resist ;)
     
  9. Dan

    Dan Administrator Staff Member Administrator 2016 Tipping Competitor

    32,370
    3,610
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +5,463 / 74
    and what was the result
     
  10. ants

    ants Active Member

    382
    4
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    was a penalty to sharkies on halfway.
     

Share This Page