1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

morris interview about ballin tackle

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by Eagles2nv, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. Eagles2nv

    Eagles2nv Sea you in the finals 2017 Tipping Competitor

    Ratings:
    +1,806 /44
    Did anyone watch the interview with morris about him taking out ballin.

    Basically said he couldn't get out of the road.

    He tackled ballin, tackled, then lied on the ground with his arms up.

    Im gald the refs picked it up.
     
  2. bob dylan

    bob dylan Well-Known Member Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    7,258
    2,150
    Ratings:
    +5,379 /165
    He also said that he hoped people didn't think that was when the Sharks lost the match.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Darren

      Darren Well-Known Member

      Ratings:
      +534 /20
      Well what was it? Gallen next to the posts with a kick to come for a draw and them coming home on a wet sail. My mate offered to buy you a beer if he could! You probably made a few punters very happy (and angry) too!!
       
    • TokyoEagle

      TokyoEagle Well-Known Member

      Ratings:
      +480 /7
      @Darren, who are you talking to ?
      And what are you talking about ?
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • Class of 96

        Class of 96 Well-Known Member

        245
        104
        Ratings:
        +368 /7
        @Darren, who are you talking to ?
        And what are you talking about ?
        [/quote]

        Same Q came to mind TE. Hey, are you the same TE I saw on a wiziwig live stream in the chat section not too long ago ?
         
      • Masked Eagle

        Masked Eagle Well-Known Member

        Ratings:
        +976 /0
        Even if it was an accident from Morris, its still a penalty to us. He was offside and stopped a defender getting there. I think if Ballin wasn't interfered with he was a good chance at getting to the ball before Gallen.
         
      • HoldenV8

        HoldenV8 Well-Known Member

        7,853
        2,218
        Ratings:
        +9,005 /153
        Realistically Morris could easily have avoided Ballin IMO. Regardless that he claims it was an accident, fact is he tackled one of the markers out of the play from an offside position. Rules are rules and since Gallen ran straight past where they were on the ground, that counts as obstruction.

        Morris and Flanagan may not like it, but even Gallen said in his post match interview with Brad Fittler that once he saw the replay he knew it would be a no try.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Sheikheagle

          Sheikheagle Well-Known Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

          Ratings:
          +1,299 /60
          There is also no proof that gallen got the ball down
           
        • Fro

          Fro Well-Known Member

          Ratings:
          +286 /0
          I dont think Morris ever said it shouldnt have been pulled up, just that it was an accident.

          Just plain stupid if you ask me,i guess thats what fatigue does to the brain.
           
        • Hamster Huey

          Hamster Huey Space Invader Premium Member

          Ratings:
          +1,148 /8
          He scored it easy. We just didn't see many replays from the various angles because the on-field refs weren't interested in the grounding. But he most definitely got down for a try.
           
        • manlywarringah

          manlywarringah Well-Known Member Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

          891
          327
          Ratings:
          +1,078 /31
          No accident for sure. Morris had his arm wrapped around Ballin's waist.

          An obvious penalty when seen on replay and one that was an absolute brain explosion from Morris.
           
        • Berkeley_Eagle

          Berkeley_Eagle Current Status: 24/7 Manly Fan

          16,043
          1,851
          Ratings:
          +2,125 /14
          @Darren, who are you talking to ?
          And what are you talking about ?
           
        • Darren

          Darren Well-Known Member

          Ratings:
          +534 /20
          Sorry, replying to Morris' statement.
           
        • Clint

          Clint . Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

          3,918
          1,307
          Ratings:
          +1,899 /20
          Agreed Sheikheagle. I thought this at the time too. I reckon Gallen comes down just short of the line and then is held up when he's over. He then rolls over, well after the fact, and puts the ball down. He then jumps up & points to the spot at the ref, thus giving away the fact he didn't get the ball down the first time.
          I haven't had a chance to go back & have another look, but I'm not convinced it would have been awarded anyway, even without Morris's brain explosion.
           
        • Sheikheagle

          Sheikheagle Well-Known Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

          Ratings:
          +1,299 /60
          I think it was hiku who had his hands Nader the ball
           
        • TokyoEagle

          TokyoEagle Well-Known Member

          Ratings:
          +480 /7
          Same Q came to mind TE. Hey, are you the same TE I saw on a wiziwig live stream in the chat section not too long ago ?
          [/quote]


          @Class of 96, one and the same.
           
        • simon64

          simon64 Well-Known Member Premium Member

          2,392
          1,025
          Ratings:
          +2,288 /29
          It wasn't even controversial.

          It was a penalty every day of the week. The only person that said it may not have been was Flanagan. Hardly an unbiased opinion. And frankly, he showed what a moron he is with his comments.

          Even Gallen, who was obviously disappointed, wasn't brazen enough to suggest his side were dudded.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • Masked Eagle

            Masked Eagle Well-Known Member

            Ratings:
            +976 /0
            I have to agree with HH above. He got it down. I think the reaction of our boys is the clue. They weren't still fighting and they were looking around at each other asking how it happened. It wasn't the look of guys who think they just denied a try.
             
          • HoldenV8

            HoldenV8 Well-Known Member

            7,853
            2,218
            Ratings:
            +9,005 /153
            The fact is that had Klien not told Shayne Hayne what he saw and that it should go to the video ref.....Hayne was all set to award the try. I can't stand Gallen but I honestly think he did get the ball down.

            What I have to laugh at though is reading some other league forums, Sharks fans are claiming that Matt Ballin wasn't square at marker so it should have either been a penalty to them or Gallen's try should have been awarded. Apparently a player coming from an offside position and tackling one of the markers is legal.....just ask Sharks fans.
             
          • The Who

            The Who Well-Known Member

            7,945
            2,397
            Ratings:
            +6,140 /133
            It was a brainsnap from Morris. Quite unlike him, but the excitement of the moment got to him.
            It costs Cronulla the match. We did incredibly well to defend for the remaining 15 minutes but I doubt we could have scored again.
            This was one match where we were lucky the win. However, we should have had the week off and been watching Easts play the Sharks because we were by far the best team the previous week.
            There are several games every season where the better team loses.
             

          Share This Page