Cliff Watson - A request....

• We had an issue with background services between march 10th and 15th or there about. This meant the payment services were not linking to automatic upgrades. If you paid for premium membership and are still seeing ads please let me know and the email you used against PayPal and I cam manually verify and upgrade your account.
Hello Lads,

I am 14 years old and the Great-Nephew of Cliff Watson.

I have been researching his career for many years, but am now in the process of really observing it in great detail and speaking to former players and fans of his era.

If anyone has any memories of Cliff, I'd love to hear your memories please and if anyone knows how to get in touch with any former players, please let me know.

Any help would be appreciated - I know he was part of 'the old enemy,' but I'm hoping that a few Manly fans grew to appreciate him in the 45 years since the famous '73 Grand Final!!

Kind regards,

Davis Watson
aged 14
(London, UK)

I can't help with former players but as a fan who was a young kid myself at the time, your grand uncle (?) seemed like one of the scariest men I'd ever seen, and that was in an era of rugby league in which scary men proliferated. His skill and intimidation factor definitely made him a key figure in the Sharks mounting a credible threat back in the day. I never met him but saw him interviewed on TV in more recent times and off-field he was reputed to be a lovely guy. I have heard an anecdote in which he was working as a bouncer, some bloke was causing trouble so Cliff went up to him and said something like, "You see this face? It's taken me years to look like this, but if you don't leave now you'll look like this in a matter of seconds" and the troublemaker saw the point and quickly scurried away.