1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ailing Stewart not crook on media

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by ManlyBacker, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. ManlyBacker

    ManlyBacker Winging it Staff Member

    Ratings:
    +971 /7
    INTRIGUE surrounded the build-up to the Sea Eagles’ NRL blockbuster against the Storm on Friday night at Brookvale Oval after fullback Brett Stewart’s sudden withdrawl from a media session today.


    Read the full article
     
  2. MissKate

    MissKate Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Ratings:
    +1,490 /7
    'Did he get sick worrying about playing against billy' - LOL!
     
  3. eagle-rock08

    eagle-rock08 Active Member

    565
    70
    Ratings:
    +70 /0
    I just hope after the Grand Final that Snake is the Dally M player and gallops up onto the podium and refuses to shake Gallops hand.

    Or better still just before he shakes Gallops hand he spits on his own hand and sees if Gallop would shake his hand then.
     
  4. bones

    bones Bones Knows

    8,370
    5,100
    Ratings:
    +9,036 /102
    Get well soon Brett PSML...... You are a champion.
     
  5. Moondog

    Moondog Amazing Blue Footed Boobie 2017 Tipping Competitor

    5,477
    2,188
    Ratings:
    +4,437 /40
    Wonder how Billy feels about playing against T-Rex.:bash:
     
  6. Mals

    Mals Well-Known Member Premium Member 2017 Tipping Competitor

    Ratings:
    +1,590 /38
    Brett's got nothing to worry about on Friday night - Michael Crocker isn't playing for the Storm anymore so he won't be taken out illegally by a another dog act from Crocker like in the '07 GF.
     
  7. Stevo

    Stevo Well-Known Member

    4,617
    1,002
    Ratings:
    +1,396 /56
    How was it a dog act? Even Stewart said it was a legal hit.
     
  8. bones

    bones Bones Knows

    8,370
    5,100
    Ratings:
    +9,036 /102
    That's because Stewart is all class. IMO it was illegal as it took his head off. If Matai does the same tackle he gets suspended.
     
  9. Jatz Crackers

    Jatz Crackers Moderator Staff Member

    9,150
    1,165
    Ratings:
    +1,298 /7
    2 very different views on this that have been debated on here previously and for mine it was certainly illegal contact to the head.

    And if a penalty was deserved for the Rabbits Isaac Luke slap the other night then Crocker deserved much more.
     
  10. Stevo

    Stevo Well-Known Member

    4,617
    1,002
    Ratings:
    +1,396 /56
    Stewart falling to the ground, Crocker chasing a kick. Even if head contact was made it was accidental. Thus why he wasn't penalised for it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Ralphie

      Ralphie Well-Known Member Premium Member

      Ratings:
      +2,565 /271
      I have heard it called a legal hit plenty of times, and I have watched the replay about 100 times. They hit Brett simultaneous to his catching the ball, no problem there. Crockers shoulder and upper arm then strike Brett flush across the head, which knocked him out cold as a maggot. I'm not too sure about this year, but I'm pretty sure that in 2007 striking an opponents head and knocking them out was considered both illegal and a dog act.

      But I have only looked at it 100 times, so I might have missed something. :p
       
    • Jatz Crackers

      Jatz Crackers Moderator Staff Member

      9,150
      1,165
      Ratings:
      +1,298 /7
      Im not being one eyed here. This truly is the way i see it after watching that footage many times.

      Nothing accidental about it. Head & shoulder of crocker contacted with Stewarts head. Illegal contact & automatic penalty. What saved crocker was that it was a GF & differing rule interpretations are emphasised.
       
    • bones

      bones Bones Knows

      8,370
      5,100
      Ratings:
      +9,036 /102
      Most head high tackles are accidental as well, but if they connect with the head they are dealt with.
       
    • Stevo

      Stevo Well-Known Member

      4,617
      1,002
      Ratings:
      +1,396 /56
      Frank Pritchard was last week cleared for making shoulder contact with the head. Hmmmmmmm?
      Shoulder to the head isn't a high shot or illegal. Just ask Frank.
       
    • bones

      bones Bones Knows

      8,370
      5,100
      Ratings:
      +9,036 /102
      Frank Pritchard actually pleaded guilty but challenged the grading. He was found guilty of the charge but was successful in getting it downgraded from a Grade 3 to a Grade 2. He was not cleared of the charges.
       
    • The Eagle

      The Eagle Well-Known Member

      Ratings:
      +480 /0
      So why was it not classed as a knock on when he clearly dropped the ball? NRL's biggest stitch up ever

      If its not a penalty its a knock on,you cant have it both ways

      Also seriously,the wanker was leading with elbow from 10 metres away,watch the footage and wear some good glasses or something,you must be blind
       
    • MadMarcus

      MadMarcus Local Lunatic 2017 Tipping Competitor

      6,091
      2,617
      Ratings:
      +7,404 /67
      When a player is knocked out it is usually pretty strong evidence of foul play.

      Except on this occasion...

      [video=youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JLAYJkTf56c&playnext=1&list=PL796222615635B737[/video]

      Karma's a bitch ey Mick?
       
    • Stevo

      Stevo Well-Known Member

      4,617
      1,002
      Ratings:
      +1,396 /56
      Nope definately not blind. People are hit in the head by a shoulder most tackles of most games. And he might have been leading with an elbow but he didn't hit him with an elbow.

      And bones i know Franks charge was down graded. But it was fairly similar and in the end he wasn't suspended. So back to my first point. Putting a shot on is hardly a dog act.

      If Watmough does it to Slater on friday night how many of you would call it a dog shot?
       
    • firechild

      firechild Active Member

      383
      62
      Ratings:
      +62 /0
      Not a dog shot but a shot on a dog.
       
    • The Eagle

      The Eagle Well-Known Member

      Ratings:
      +480 /0
      So you think Storm should have gotten a scrum feed after that shot? ?Because if its not a penalty its a knock on,he dropped the ball ffs its not NFL

      But obvious holes are available in both theories but let me ask you one more question

      If i try to kill you,do you want me to go to jail or should i be let off scot-free because i failed to end your life? (This in no way is a threat,call it an apt comparison as Crocker may well have killed him if it went to far wrong which to be honest,i thought he had)

      If so,tell me where the difference is in both instances[hr]
      And id call it unnecessary,Slater is overrated
       

    Share This Page