1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Matai's first point of contact

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by Fluffy, Apr 28, 2013.

  1. Fluffy

    Fluffy Well-Known Member

    17,768
    1,418
    Ratings:
    +3,625 / 132
    [attachment=504]

    Still from the replay shows first point of contact about 4 inches below being dangerous.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. IQofalimabean

    IQofalimabean Well-Known Member

    572
    152
    Ratings:
    +273 / 11
    Exactly and that should work in Matai's favor as the majority of the impact was in the chest area.
     
  3. Dan

    Dan Administrator Staff Member Administrator 2016 Tipping Competitor

    32,371
    3,610
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +5,469 / 74
    There was a high shot from ryan james today that was 100 times worse and didnt go on report. Nor did the knights player roll around waiting to sprout fairy wings either
     
  4. the mauler

    the mauler Well-Known Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    2,765
    1,139
    Ratings:
    +1,653 / 25
    If it was any other player we wouldn't of even heard about the tackle. If Matai gets any time it's an absolute joke.
     
  5. BOZO

    BOZO Well-Known Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    5,349
    1,986
    Ratings:
    +3,855 / 192
    It was a legit hit and big george fell like a big bag of **** and then lay down like a big pussycat .
     
  6. Phantar

    Phantar Well-Known Member

    2,196
    273
    Ratings:
    +273 / 0
    Saw a headhigh from T-Rest against the Sharks today. Just a penalty awarded and nothing more was said - by Hadley. He'd still be going if it was Matai.
     
  7. niccipops

    niccipops un echidna spillo mia bevanda Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    5,436
    2,922
    Ratings:
    +5,521 / 50
    Great pic Fluffy. I'm sure Manly's legal team will have that kind of evidence to present.
    If Stevie gets suspended for this Silvertails are welcome to join my loungeroom protest.
     
    • Like Like x 11
  8. Kiwi Eagle

    Kiwi Eagle Moderator Staff Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    14,488
    1,734
    Ratings:
    +2,425 / 31
    Do we need to bring rulers ?
     
  9. bones

    bones Bones Knows Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    8,367
    5,100
    Ratings:
    +8,999 / 102

    I'll bring my tape measure.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. susan

    susan Well-Known Member

    2,418
    1,040
    Ratings:
    +2,045 / 30
    I think there is no doubt the first point of contact was ok but Ray Warren was saying in the coverage that that is not an excuse.

    From what I can gather the fact that he hits the ball first helps re the grading but doesn't mean the tackle is not regarded as a high shot because there was contact with the head and it could be regarded as careless/reckless.I hope that is not the case.Does anyone know the exact rule in these cases?
     
    • Like Like x 3
  11. SeaEagleRock8

    SeaEagleRock8 Sea Eagle Lach Staff Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    12,600
    3,523
    Ratings:
    +6,802 / 122
    A player is guilty of misconduct if he:

    (b) when effecting or attempting to effect a tackle
    makes contact with the head or neck of an
    opponent intentionally, recklessly or carelessly.
     
  12. Ralphie

    Ralphie Well-Known Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    3,648
    489
    Bredbo
    Ratings:
    +2,093 / 231
    I can't open the file, can someone post the picture please
     
  13. Dan

    Dan Administrator Staff Member Administrator 2016 Tipping Competitor

    32,371
    3,610
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +5,469 / 74
    Jeez I struggle to see how that comes under any of those. It isnt intentional. It isnt careless and it isnt reckless. It is completely and utterky unlucky. The action was legal. If the ball was a square we wouldnt even be discussing this
     
  14. Dan

    Dan Administrator Staff Member Administrator 2016 Tipping Competitor

    32,371
    3,610
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +5,469 / 74
    The ball should therefore be charged with being reckless
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Ralphie

    Ralphie Well-Known Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    3,648
    489
    Bredbo
    Ratings:
    +2,093 / 231
    I CAN'T SEE IT!!!!!!!!!!
     
  16. susan

    susan Well-Known Member

    2,418
    1,040
    Ratings:
    +2,045 / 30
    I reckon they will charge him with grade 1 careless to keep the press at bay.Not sure what that means in weeks.
     
  17. MWSE

    MWSE Well-Known Member

    1,072
    257
    Ratings:
    +335 / 2
    Matai will cop 100% loading if he gets charged with any head high due to two head highs last season.
     
  18. susan

    susan Well-Known Member

    2,418
    1,040
    Ratings:
    +2,045 / 30
    I imagine a grade one careless would be a week so with the loading would be two weeks.So most likely results are nothing or 2 weeks.
     
  19. WAMF

    WAMF Well-Known Member

    3,201
    389
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +408 / 0
    If Matai gets a week, Sam Burgess should get 2 weeks for bringing the game into disrepute.
     
  20. niccipops

    niccipops un echidna spillo mia bevanda Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    5,436
    2,922
    Ratings:
    +5,521 / 50
    I'll have the rulers. No admission under a certain length. KIDDING of course. I'm a clean living school teacher :angel:
    Put that tape measure away Bones. They're dangerous.:s
     

Share This Page