1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In goal grounding

Discussion in 'Rugby League Forum' started by Napper, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. Napper

    Napper Well-Known Member

    2,971
    781
    Ratings:
    +797 / 1
    How about this

    How about a way of letting the ref know it was an accident.

    For instance, last night taufua grounds it unintentionally so when he gets up say for instance he pats his head twice to play on.

    If he does this he has then taken advantage and say he gets dragged back in goal, bad luck for him, he took advantage.

    This way the attacking team is not getting screwed for slipping over when the defence is 30m away.

    It could be a pat on the head, quick tap on the foot at the tryline, anything to let the ref know you wish to play on.
     
  2. bones

    bones Bones Knows Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    8,367
    5,100
    Ratings:
    +8,999 / 102
    Why not just get up and run if you want to play on, or lay there if you don't?

    Cowboys were not disadvantaged by that ruling at all. Manly dropped the ball a couple of tackles later and the Cowboys had the scrum feed near halfway, which is close to where they would have fielded any drop out anyway.
     
  3. Shoe1

    Shoe1 Well-Known Member

    6,218
    1,988
    Ratings:
    +4,642 / 74
    I reckon seven pats on the head if you want to play on, 8 if you want to claim the grounding.
     
  4. mozgrame

    mozgrame Well-Known Member

    7,009
    3,013
    Ratings:
    +4,571 / 45
    I wonder if Steve Roach was trying to tell the ref he wanted to play on when he patted the ref on the head?
     
  5. Rex

    Rex Well-Known Member

    4,334
    761
    Ratings:
    +2,338 / 60
    And for NQ players - cow pats on the head.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Ian Martin tragic

    Ian Martin tragic Well-Known Member

    981
    121
    Ratings:
    +137 / 0
    If you ground the ball, it should be a dropout. Accidentally or not.
     
  7. mike walker

    mike walker Well-Known Member

    324
    297
    Ratings:
    +556 / 2
    g'day all,why is it now considered that when a bloke slips over while fielding a ball in goal it should be an automatic grounding?Never used to be especially when the defence is still a distance away.Surely a simple interpretation is that if he gets up to play on it is play on is all thats required.
    cheers mike
     
  8. Dan

    Dan Administrator Staff Member Administrator 2016 Tipping Competitor

    32,370
    3,610
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +5,463 / 74
    Bowen did it in the first half and got the same call do their point is completely moot
     
  9. bob dylan

    bob dylan Well-Known Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    6,864
    2,030
    Junee
    Ratings:
    +4,404 / 130
    That's was different.

    He had a blue jersey on. Pay attention please.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Jethro

    Jethro This space is for rent Staff Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    7,128
    1,492
    Ratings:
    +1,897 / 7
    Correct. That was at 15:42 on the clock that Bowen did that. The situation was exactly the same.
     
  11. Kiwi Eagle

    Kiwi Eagle Moderator Staff Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    14,488
    1,734
    Ratings:
    +2,425 / 31
    How about the players use Robbo as inspiration and if they want to play on get the helicopter out
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. bones

    bones Bones Knows Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    8,367
    5,100
    Ratings:
    +8,999 / 102
    And Jamie Lyon questioned it to the referee like Thurston did. Actually not like Thurston did...... Jamie didn't carry on like an eight year old girl when he asked the question.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Technical Coach

    Technical Coach Well-Known Member

    1,902
    500
    Ratings:
    +863 / 45
    The rule should be any grounding of the ball when the opposition has one player within the in-goal area should be a drop-out.

    Any grounding that takes place without any opposition player in the in-goal it is play on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. globaleagle

    globaleagle Où est mon chapeau Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    11,784
    4,708
    Ratings:
    +7,795 / 58
    meh, i agree with the intention rule.

    a pity ch 9 still dont get this even after it was explained to them a few weeks ago.
     
  15. Lennox Local

    Lennox Local Member

    68
    13
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    My 8 year old daughter wouldn't even carry on like Thurston!
     
  16. TonganEagle

    TonganEagle New Member

    26
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    So if the rule where to be if the ball is grounded at all in the in goal it should be a drop out, would that mean if the ball is rolling and not bouncing the player cant pick it up with technically grounding it?

    Keep it as it is.
     
  17. mozgrame

    mozgrame Well-Known Member

    7,009
    3,013
    Ratings:
    +4,571 / 45
    Because KE, not all players are built like Robbo, you and I. I'm not sure exactly how far the video ref can zoom.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Shoe1

    Shoe1 Well-Known Member

    6,218
    1,988
    Ratings:
    +4,642 / 74
    My 8 year old daughter is a gem. Decent netballer too.
     
  19. Technical Coach

    Technical Coach Well-Known Member

    1,902
    500
    Ratings:
    +863 / 45
    Picking up a rolling ball is not grounding, all i'm saying is the intention rule alone in itself is open to more interpretation a little more so than what i feel it should be.

    You can still use the intention method within what i devised I'm just trying to simplify the process when no opposing player is in the in-goal.

    I have not viewed the Taufua incident a second time but i don't recall seeing a Cowboys player in the in-goal when he slightly fumbled the ball in a downward motion. It would not even be up for discussion if the extension to the rule i suggested was added as you can't ground the ball with no opposing players in the in-goal it simplifies the rule in this instance---it should not even require the "intention method" to deliver an outcome.

    The intention method comes into play when working out if a try has been scored or a defending player has grounded the ball stopping a try in most instances(if not all) and should not have to be used in cases like what happened to Taufau.
     
  20. StuBoot

    StuBoot Well-Known Member Premium Member 2016 Tipping Competitor

    1,347
    440
    Ratings:
    +795 / 7
    Good point TC.
    I reckon he was lucky he didn't get pinged for a knock on anyway though.
     

Share This Page